Dario Castello (c.1590 – c.1658)  : 
Canzon 16 à 4 

- Recorder Quartet: SATB 
Score + 4 Parts
- Level: Intermediate

Transcription for recorder ensemble of Sonata Decima Sesta a 4 Per Stromenti d’arco (originally for four string instruments and continuo) from Sonate Concertate In Stil Moderno Per Sonar nel Organo overo Clavicembalo con diversi Instrumenti. A. 1.2.3. & 4. Voci. Libro Secondo (Venice 1629), in original key of C.
Arranged by Charles Coldwell.

Castello’s Sonata 16 clearly exhibits the “modern” traits of the early Italian solo and ensemble sonata.  The entire work consists of a single movement with several sections of different tempi and meter, including a section, with battle-like, rapidly repeated 16th notes imitating trumpet calls, is a manifestation of Monteverdi’s stile concitato ("agitated style").  This transcription for recorders is based on the original part-books of 1644 and 1629.

Write a review

Note: HTML is not translated!
    Bad           Good

CASTELLO - Sonata 16

  • $11.00

Related Products

CASTELLO - Sonata 15

CASTELLO - Sonata 15

Dario Castello (c.1590 – c.1658)  :  Canzon 15 à 4  - Recorder Quartet: SATGb(B) - Score + 4 Parts ..