Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)   :  
Rhosymedre (or "Lovely")
from Three Preludes (Founded on Welsh Hymn Tunes)

- Recorder Quintet, Sextet or Recorder Orchestra: ATBGbCb + optional Sopranino
- Score (with original keyboard version) + 7 Parts (Gb in both bass and treble clefs)
- Level: Intermediate +

Transcription for recorder ensemble of Vaughn Williams prelude originally for organ with pedals.
Arranged by Charles Coldwell.

Ralph Vaughan Williams prelude on Rhosymedre is the second of his Three Preludes Founded on Welsh Hymn Tunes, published in 1920.  The tune, originally named “Lovely,” was by John David Edwards (1805–85), vicar of Rhosymedre, Denbighshire. Vaughan Williams’ smooth, flowing counterpoint with sweet chains of thirds and sixths form the backdrop against which the truly beautiful hymn tune is heard, have made this the best loved prelude of the set.

This arrangement is based on the original keyboard piece for organ with pedals, and can be performed as a quintet (ATBGbCb), or as a sextet with the addition of the optional sopranino part.  It sounds especially lush when performed by a large recorder ensemble or recorder orchestra with multiple players on all parts except the sopranino part.  The key has been trans-posed up a fifth from G to D to fit the range of the recorders.  The original keyboard version (also transposed from G to D) is included in the score for easy comparison with the transcription.

This edition also includes in the score and parts the version of Edward’s hymn, “Lovely,” as found in The English Hymnal of 1906 (of which Vaughan Williams was Music Editor).  It can be performed as a companion “prelude,” or introduction, to Vaughan Williams’ Prelude.

Write a review

Please login or register to review

VAUGHAN WILLIAMS - Rhosymedre for ATBGbCb + optional Sopranino

  • $15.00

Related Products

RESPIGHI – Ancient Airs and Dances - Suite 1 - digital ePUB

RESPIGHI – Ancient Airs and Dances - Suite 1 - digital ePUB

Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936)   :   AncientAirs and Dances – Suite 1  -Recorder Orchestra: SnSS..